Memoirs of an MMO player

If this is popular I will try to make this a weekly feature.

My first MMO was Ultima Online.  One of my friends said I should try it. During that time there were really only two MMOs, Ultima Online and Everquest. So I went to the store and purchased the box. I went home and installed it then waited 3 days for the patches to install all I had was free dialup provided by freeWWWeb. When I finaly got it all patched up I fired it up and did not get off for about 10 hours. This was the most intense gaming experience I had ever had. Hundreds of people were at the Brit bank selling stuff. People were chatting and arguing. I was killed countless times by a chicken.  It was great. At this point I was hooked for the next year and a half.  It is still some of my fondest memories of gaming I have.

I look back and try to figure out why it attracted me like it did. What about the game made me want to play it so much? Other games had much better graphics even at this time unreal had just come out quake 3. Lots of games that looked better.  It was what I could be in game. How uber I could become. The game had so many things that to this day have been not duplicated. The crafting system is by far the best system I have played. The housing system was terrific, they made housing scarce, it was something worth having.

It is the only game I have played that had status symbols. Things in game that were used for nothing but were worth millions of gold, statues, rare colored cloths, all kinds of things that really did nothing ot help your character. There was a tailor on our server that was named Gucci his cloths went for a premium it was amazing.

The game was entirely skill based no level what so ever. This made it very versatile and fun. You could be a mage/archer or what ever and switch as you liked. This system has only been recreated in one game since then, Star Wars Galaxies then they went and screwed up the one good thing about that game with the NGE.  I am still waiting for a good skill based game to come out. It feels more natural then the level based systems.

Eventually I got tired of this game and started to look for a new game to come out. I tried EQ and at that time it was way to hardcore for me to much time wasted. Then I noticed Anarchy online was about to release. I waited and bought it the day it came out. Huge mistake that game was unplayable for the first 3 months and by that time I quit and went back to UO. I played it until Dark Age of Camelot came out then I switched, and never looked back.

Since then the level system has grown on me and I am now okay with it. I have played almost every major MMO release since DAoC.  Some times it is nice to look back and see what lead you to where you are. I will play MMOs the rest of my life but now I expect them to be easy.

Leave a Reply

