Returning to an old love

Over the weekend I went home and had kind of a family reunion.  I was talking to my brother who also plays WAR and he had mentioned that he had gone back to his first MMO, Ultima Online. I talked with him about all of thing things that he loved about the game and we talked of our old times in UO.  I decided I would download the new 3D client and take a trip down memory lane.

After downloading the game I created a new trial account, logged in, walked around, closed client, logged into WAR. Every thing I love about that game can not make up for how ugly and clunky it is.  I love the skill based system. I love the crafting and resource gathering. I love the housing. It is the only game I have played that got all 3 of those things right.  It is second to none in those areas.  But the horrible combat and lack of 3D just kill it for me.

I miss being able to just log in and do some thing different. Maybe I want to go find a rare color horse to tame.  Maybe I want to go treasure hunting out on the open sea.  Maybe I want to go mine for ore. Maybe I want to decorate my house. Maybe I want to start a mall. Maybe I want to go tame a dragon. Maybe I want to go find a place to put my new house.  Maybe I want to become an archer.  Maybe I want to go deep into a dungeon to get a pair of rare red sandals.

All of this could be done on the same character. This game has so many things that no game to date has been able to get right.  What it did not get right is combat.  Combat is horrible. It is unbearable to today’s standard. I do not know if any game in the future will have everything that UO does. All new games are following the WoW style of game play.

I think I am over my first love. I have quit judging other games agianst her. I still dream about the day that a UO2 comes out but it is just that, a dream.

Leave a Reply

