I DO NOT WANT TO DELIVER A DAMN LETTER TO A HOBBIT!

I played Lord of the Rings Online a lot this weekend and I have decided to stay with WAR. While LOTRO has a lot of things that it did right and it is a superb game it is missing a few things that would make it stick for me and has one HUGE glaring problem.

As I have stated in a previous post I do not like quests that take a long time to complete and LOTRO is full of them. There are so many crappy quests to do that you can’t even count them. I DO NOT WANT TO DELIVER A DAMN LETTER TO A HOBBIT! Who thought it was a good idea to make people run all over the freaking country side (Beautiful as it may be) for a quest?  Who thinks it is fun to do this? WHO? I want exciting quest, I want to kill things.  I don’t want to be a damn post master. All of the exciting quest are group based and they are few and far between in the first 10 levels.  I spent 20 minutes trying to find a rabbit hole. Then after I found it I had to run 15 mins to the other side of the zone to show it to some dude who then sent me back to investigate further. This is an example of how to not make quests.  A few quests like this may be necessary to move people on to the proper locations, but don’t make this part of the main epic story line. Please show me where to go. I don’t want to figure it out. I don’t want to read why Betty is missing her little kitty.  I don’t want to wonder around for 20 minutes trying to find the stupid cat.

I am not saying that LOTRO is a bad game. There are people out there that want to stick their hands into bunny holes and deliver letters while avoiding nosey hobbits, they like to run around, hold hands, and sing kum bi ya. I am not one of those.

3 Responses to I DO NOT WANT TO DELIVER A DAMN LETTER TO A HOBBIT!

  1. Pingback: LOTRO: Storytime « Bio Break

  2. Zubon says:

    Ah, but that’s just the early stuff. New endgame content lets you pick flowers and deliver them to sad elves to brighten their day. It’s a repeatable daily quest, so you can pick lots of flowers! There are also daily quests to sing to trees and to tell party-goers that they have been drinking a bit too much.

  3. Jim says:

    Wow that sounds like fun end game content. I have always wanted to sing to trees.

Leave a Reply

