The first weekend of Champions Online

The first weekend is over and here are my impressions so far.

I got my character up to level 15.  It was fun from level 1-12 then I had problems finding quests that were in my level and I ended up taking quest that were 2 or 3 levels above me. Now that I am level 15 I am having great difficulty finding quests my level.  This does not mean they are not there I just don’t know where they are. The game needs a way to guide me to where I am supposed to be for my level.  Something on the map marking main quest hubs would be nice with a level ranking, would be really easy and would not require new quests.

I am really enjoying the open skill system. I have not moved outside of my ice line but I could if I wanted and I like that. It gives me a sense of freedom. I plan on moving out side of my skill set next time I get a new skill.  I wish that I got to pick skills more often, I felt the same way when I played CoX.  I may be able to pick a perk or some thing but I should get new powers every level at least until level 20 or so.

There is one glaring problem that I have so far with the game. The world does not seem alive. I can’t really put my finger on it but the world seems static and boring.  This is a HUGE problem for me. If the world does not feel like it is real I loose interest. The desert zone does not feel this way but the other ones I have visited do. I do not like the fact that I can not run from one zone to the other. I struggled with this in AoC too for the world to feel real I need to be able to walk between zones. Having a helicopter or teleporter move me around is a big immersion killer for me. This will probably not effect other people but for me this is very important.

Overall I am having fun in the game. I am still not sure about the sticking power for me, but I have 6 months paid for so I am going to give it my all.

Leave a Reply

